NOTES AND COMMENTS.

THIS year has seen the close of the careers of two eminent Mineralogists. Alfred L. O. I. Des Cloizeaux, who had been since 1876 Professor of Mineralogy at the Museum of Natural History in Paris, and Gustav A. Kenngott, who was for nearly 40 years Professor of Mineralogy at Zürich.

In Professor Des Cloizeaux the Mineralogical Society loses one of its most distinguished Corresponding Members.

Another Corresponding Member has been taken from the Society in the person of Professor J. J. S. Steenstrup, of Kopenhagen, who died at the advanced age of 84.

Death has also robbed us of one of our Vice-Presidents, Dr. Samuel Haughton, who was Professor of Geology at Trinity College, Dublin, from 1851 to 1881.

Even more recently we hear with great regret of the death of Dr. M. F. Heddle, a Past-President of the Society, and one of its founders and most active members. He died on Nov. 19th.

Some notice of the life and work of Des Cloizeaux and Heddle will be given in the next number.

We regret also to record the death on May 25th, at the age of 75, of Dr. Lars J. Igelström, an indefatigable mineralogist, who added the names of many new species to the science.

Also of Samuel Allport, well known as one of the pioneers of microscopical petrology, who died on the 7th of July, aged 81.

Among recent appointments are the following:—Dr. Beckenkamp becomes Professor of Mineralogy at Würzburg, and is succeeded at Mülhausen by Dr. Osann, of Heidelberg; Professor A. J. Moses is appointed to the Chair of Mineralogy in Columbia College; and Mr. C. H. Warren becomes Instructor in Mineralogy in the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale University; Professor A. de Lapparent has been elected a Member of the Paris Academy of Sciences in succession to the late Professor Des Cloizeaux.