

THE HAWLEY AWARD

In 1967 the Mineralogical Association of Canada voted to adopt a Centennial Project to mark the 100th anniversary of Canadian confederation. It was decided that the project would consist of making an award to the author of the best paper published in the Canadian Mineralogist during the preceding three years. As a tribute to the late Professor J.E. Hawley (1897-1965), this recognition of merit is known as the Hawley Award. Granted triennially, the award originally consisted of a scroll and a life membership in the Mineralogical Association of Canada. In 1973 and in future, the illustrated silver medals, with appropriate engraving, will replace the scrolls.

Other than the three-year time limit, there are no restrictions on eligibility for the award. Selection of the best paper is entrusted to a panel of judges who report their decisions to the M.A.C. Executive. The Association gratefully acknowledges the services rendered by past judges Michael Fleischer (U.S. Geological Survey, Washington), D.J. Fisher (University of Chicago), R.A. Howie (King's College, London), M.H. Hey (British Museum, Natural History), Akira Kato (National Science Museum, Tokyo), B.F. Leonard (U.S. Geological Survey, Denver), and Adolf Pabst (University of California).

The 1969 and 1970 recipients of the Hawley Award were E.H. Nickel and J.L. Jambor, respectively. The 1973 Award was given to D.C. Harris and E.H. Nickel for their paper "Pentlandite compositions and associations in some mineral deposits" (Can. Mineral. 11, 861-878, 1972). Eligibility for the 1976 Award began with volume 11, part 5 (1973).