## PROCEEDINGS OF THE NINETEENTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MINERALOGICAL ASSOCIATION OF CANADA

The nineteenth Annual Meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Geological Association of Canada, in co-operation with the Canadian Geoscience Council, May 19-22, 1974 in St. John's, Newfoundland, at Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Twenty-nine papers were presented in two technical sessions, one a symposium on Low-Grade Metamorphism and one a general session, both held in the Education Building. The Symposium was opened with two invited papers, "Low-Grade Metamorphism" by Dr. W. S. Fyfe and "Burial Metamorphism" by Dr. E-an Zen. The convention program also contained a series of 18 field trips held before, during and after the meeting. Two trips to the Foxtrap Pyrophyllite Mine were of special interest to mineralogists.

The MAC luncheon was held on May 21 in the 2nd floor lounge of Hatcher House. The fact that no speech was given during the luncheon provided an interesting diversion from the standard luncheon.

The Annual Business Meeting of the Association was held at 5.30 p.m. May 21, 1974 in 1974 in Room E-2 of the Education Building, at Memorial University. Thirty-two members attended the meeting chaired by Dr. J. A. Mandarino, President of the Association. The main points discussed were:—

Treasurer's Report: There was a balance of \$12,554. as of December 31, 1973. However, the additional work brought about by the quarterly publication of the Canadian Mineralogist necessitates hiring a part-time secretary to help the Subscription Manager. This will be our first paid employee.

Canadian Mineralogist: Volume 12 part 4 has been mailed, and part 5 is in the page proof stage. Part 6 will include the abstracts of the Nineteenth Annual Meeting, and part 7 will be a special issue containing the papers presented at the Low-Grade Metamorphism symposium. Volume 12 will end with part 7, and subsequent volumes will have four parts and coincide with the calendar year. Receipt of a grant-in-aid of publication from the National Research Council of Canada, for 1974, was announced. A Board of Associate Editors will soon be appointed, to help broaden the journal's coverage of related subjects. Membership: Total membership has risen from 1344 in May 2, 1973 to 1432 in May 12, 1974 but not all of the e have paid because of delays caused by the mail strike. A strong plea for all members to solicit new members was lodged. *IMA*: Dr. L. G. Berry, Dr. P. Bayliss and Dr. J. A. Mandarino have been selected by the Executive as the Canadian delegates to the International Mineralogical Association meeting in Germany in September, 1974. New representatives to the various IMA Commissions are being selected to take office on January 1, 1975 for a 4 year period.

CGC: The Canadian Geoscience Council has been contracted by Energy, Mines and Resources to produce an annual report on the state of Geoscience in Canada. The MAC is responsible for assembling the sections on Geochronology, Inorganic Geochemistry, Isotope Geology, Mineralogy and Crystallography, Petrology and Petrography and Experimental Petrology.

*By-Laws:* A revision of the by-laws will soon be carried out and will include changes in the voting procedure. However, the old method will have to be followed for the next election.

Future Meetings: The twentieth Annual Meeting will be held in conjunction with the Geological Association of Canada, and the North Central Section of the Geological Society of America, at the University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, May 15-17, 1975. The MAC will sponsor a Symposium on the Geochemistry of Unconsolidated Sediments, and sessions on Experimental Mineralogy and Petrology, and General Mineralogy. The Chairman of the MAC Organizing Committee is Dr. E. C. Appleyard, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Waterloo. The MAC will have a proper organizing committee for this and future meetings instead of placing the burden on a single representative.

Subsequent meetings are planned for,

Edmonton, Alberta	May,	1976
Vancouver, British Columbia	February,	1977
Toronto, Ontario	October,	1978
Quebec, Quebec		1979
Halifax, Nova Scotia		1980

F. J. Wicks, Secretary.