## PROCEEDINGS OF THE THIRTIETH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MINERALOGICAL ASSOCIATION OF CANADA

The thirtieth annual meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held on May 15–17, 1985, at the University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, New Brunswick, in conjunction with the thirtyeighth annual meeting of the Geological Association of Canada.

The eleventh MAC short course preceded the meeting. The course was organized by J.C. White and dealt with the topic "Applications of Electron Microscopy in the Earth Sciences". The Association also sponsored a symposium on "Occurrence and Genesis of Brines and Gases in Crystalline Rocks" organized by P. Fritz and S.K. Frape, and sponsored or cosponsored special sessions on "Applied Mineralogy in Science and Technology" organized by D. Abbott, "Lamprophyres, Lamproites, Ultrapotassic and Related Basic and Ultrabasic Rocks" organized by S.W. Bachinski, "Rocks, Minerals, and Materials Science: Physical Properties, Processes, and Phenomena Related to Metamorphism and Deformation" organized by J.C. White and P.F. Williams, and "Crystallography and Crystal Chemistry" organized by F.C. Hawthorne. The latter special session was held to commemorate the 65th birthday and retirement of Professor R.B. Ferguson, one of the founders of the Mineralogical Association of Canada.

The MAC Annual Luncheon was held on May 16 in the Lady Beaverbrook Residence Dining Hall at the University of New Brunswick. The Past Presidents' Medal was presented to Denis M. Shaw of McMaster University in recognition of his significant contributions in the field of inorganic geochemistry. The Hawley Award for 1985 was presented to R.F. Dymek of Harvard University and L.P. Gromet of Brown Unversity for their paper entitled "Nature and Origin of Orthopyroxene Megacrysts from the St-Urbain Anorthosite Massif, Quebec" which was judged to be the best paper published in Volume 22 of *The Canadian Mineralogist*.

The Annual Business Meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held on May 16 at 1730 hrs in Room 102, Tilley Hall, with 18 members in attendance. Association President L.J. Cabri

opened the meeting by thanking the organizing committee of the Fredericton meeting for its very successful efforts on behalf of the sponsoring societies. In particular he thanked meeting chairman. H.W. van de Poll and vice-chairman D.J. Bachinski, and J.C. White, organizer of the MAC short course. A.P. Sabina presented the Treasurer's Report and referred to the audited financial statements for the 1984 fiscal year. The consolidated non-inventory assets of the Mineralogical Association of Canada amounted to \$236,531 at the end of 1984, compared with \$228,754 a year earlier. The Membership Committee reported that total membership as of May 1, 1985, stood at 1990. R.F. Martin presented the Editor's Report, noting that the May 1985 issue of The Canadian Mineralogist contains the edited abstracts for the Fourth International Platinum Symposium and the Magmatic Sulfide Field Conference, as well as regular papers. The Canadian Mineralogist had the highest Impact Factor of any Canadian science journal in 1981-1982, as reported in the recently published 1983 Annual Science Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information. On the international level, the journal also ranked relatively high compared to many other earth-science journals. Hence it is appropriate that the MAC Executive Committee has approved an additional fifty pages for the journal in 1986. D.F. Sangster, vice-chairman of the 1986 GAC-MAC Joint Annual Meeting in Ottawa, reported on the organization and content of that meeting, which will be preceded by a MAC short course on "Silicate Melts: Their Properties and Structure, Applied to Problems in Geochemistry, Petrology, Economic Geology, and Planetary Geology" organized by C.M. Scarfe. The 1987 Annual Meeting will be held in Saskatoon, where the Association will sponsor a short course on stable isotope geochemistry. Future annual meetings will be held in St. John's in 1988, and Montreal in 1989. The Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting may be obtained from the Secretary.

> Sandra M. Barr Secretary