PROCEEDINGS OF THE THIRTY-SECOND ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MINERALOGICAL ASSOCIATION OF CANADA

The thirty-second annual meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held on May 25-27, 1987, at the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Geological Association of Canada.

The thirteenth MAC short course preceded the meeting. The course was organized by T.K. Kyser of the University of Saskatchewan, and dealt with the topic "Stable Isotope Geochemistry of Low-Temperature Fluids". During the meeting, the MAC sponsored a symposium on "Pressure-Temperature-Time Paths of Metamorphism" organized by E.D. Ghent and R.R. Parrish. A large number of special and general technical sessions as well as pre-meeting and post-meeting field trips were also included in the very successful meeting, which was centred at the new Geological Sciences Building.

The Annual Luncheon of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held in Marquis Hall, University of Saskatchewan. The Past-Presidents' Medal was presented by current Past-President L.J. Cabri to Peter L. Roeder of Queen's University in recognition of the excellence of his research in experimental igneous petrology. The Hawley Award for 1986 was presented by H.J. Greenwood to Stephen J. Guggenheim of the University of Illinois at Chicago and Richard A. Eggleton of the Australian National University for their paper entitled "Structural Modulations in Iron-Rich and Magnesium-Rich Minnesotaite", which was judged to be the best paper published in Volume 24 of The Canadian Mineralogist. This year marked the first presentation of the Berry Medal, to be made in recognition of distinguished service to the Mineralogical Association of Canada. The recipient was A. Ronald Graham, now retired from Falconbridge Ltd., who was honored in particular for his role in guiding the Association through a period of financial difficulty during the late 1960s. The presentation was made by MAC Vice-President J.M. Duke. A special presentation of a red leather-bound copy of The Ferguson Issue (Volume 24, Number 4) of The Canadian Mineralogist, signed by the authors, was made to R.B. Ferguson by F.C. Hawthorne.

The Annual Business Meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held on May 26 at 17:30 hrs in the Thorvaldson Building, University of Saskatchewan, with 25 members in attendance. Association President H.J. Greenwood opened the

meeting by thanking the members present for attending. Following approval of the Minutes of the 1986 Annual Business Meeting, A.P. Sabina presented the Treasurer's report. She noted that financial statements for 1986 were prepared by a professional accountant, now necessary in order to meet the requirements of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council for its grant in aid of publication of The Canadian Mineralogist. She reviewed the financial statements for 1986, noting that total noninventory assets of the Mineralogical Association of Canada amounted to \$299,206 at the end of 1986, compared to \$295,562 a year earlier. It was annouced that a By-Laws revision would be proposed in the next Newsletter to remove the necessity of an internal audit. Greenwood reported on behalf of the Membership Committee that total membership is approximately the same as in 1986. R.F. Martin presented the Editor's Report, and noted that the success of the journal has been reflected in the number of manuscript submissions. The remaining three issues for 1987 are ready; the first issue of 1988 is presently planned to contain a compilation of papers on lamprophyres in memory of Sharon Bachinski, as well as papers from the symposium on Layered Igneous Rocks held at the Ottawa annual meeting. Council has voted in favor of two hundred additional pages for the journal in 1987 and 1988. He commented that only 45% of the papers published in recent years have Canadian first authors, and Canadian authors are urged to publish in *The Cana*dian Mineralogist. Martin will be on sabbatical leave in 1987-88, and John Jambor of CANMET, Ottawa, will serve as acting editor. J.M. Duke, Chairman of the Programme Committee, reported on future annual meetings and short courses. The 1988 meeting will be held in St. John's, Newfoundland, at Memorial University of Newfoundland, and the Vice-Chairman is C.J.S. Rivers. The meeting will be preceded by a MAC short course on "Heat Flow and Metamorphism" organized by G. Quinlan and E. Nisbet. The 1989 meeting is scheduled for Montreal, and the Vice-Chairman is W.E. Trzcienski, Jr., of the Université de Montréal. Future annual meetings are planned for Vancouver in 1990, Toronto in 1991, and Wolfville, Nova Scotia in 1992. Complete minutes of the Annual Meeting may be obtained from the Secretary.

> S.M. Barr Secretary