PROCEEDINGS OF THE FORTY-SIXTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MINERALOGICAL ASSOCIATION OF CANADA, 2001

The 46th annual meeting of the Mineralogical Association of Canada was held at the Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, May 27 to May 30, 2001, as part of the Joint Annual Geological Association of Canada - Mineralogical Association of Canada meeting. The second biennial North Atlantic Minerals Symposium, organized by the Geological Survey of Newfoundland and Labrador (cochair Baxter Kean) and the Geological Survey of Ireland (co-chair Gerry Stanley), was held in conjunction with this event. The meeting was marked by a large number of attendees (almost 1100!), solid science, and a well-organized scientific and social program. To top it all off, the conference was awarded the 2001 International Admiral's award from the City of St. John's for contributions to tourism.

The scientific program consisted of four symposia, 21 special sessions and eight general sessions. Special session 9, The Henry Longerich Session – New Developments in LAM–ICP–MS Analytical Techniques (organized by Paul Sylvester) highlighted one of the research areas for which MUN has become so well recognized. That session was very well attended and linked to a pre-meeting MAC-sponsored short course on the LAM–ICP–MS technique. The short course was filled to capacity, and the associated volume (No. 29; available from the MAC Business Office or *via* the internet at *http:www.mineralogicalassociation.ca*) has sold extremely well.

The annual luncheon and award presentations of the Association was held on May 29th in the Faculty Club at MUN. The Hawley Award for 2001, for the best paper in Volume 38 of The Canadian Mineralogist, was awarded by Association president Brian Fryer to Adrienne Larocque, James Stimac, Jeffrey Keith and Michelle Huminicki for their paper titled "Evidence for open-system behavior in immiscible Fe-S-O liquids in silicate magmas: implications for contributions of metals and sulfur to ore-forming fluids" (volume 38, pages 1233-1249). The Past Presidents' medal was awarded to Kurt Kyser, Department of Geological Sciences, Queen's University, for his outstanding contributions to improving our understanding of fluid-rock interactions. The Berry Medal was awarded to Robert F. Martin, long-standing editor of The Canadian Mineralogist, in recognition of the enormous time and effort he has devoted to our journal and the Association as a whole. The Young Scientist's Medal was awarded to James Scoates (Université Libre de Bruxelles and the University of British Columbia). The Ann Sabina Awards, made on behalf of the Association by the CCFMS, were presented to Dick Strata (Scarborough, Ontario; Advanced) and Nicholas Gere (Brampton, Ontario; Beginner). The Pinch medal (not awarded this year) is to be presented on a biennial basis at the Annual Banquet of the Tucson Gem and Mineral Show.

The Annual Business Meeting took place on May 26 and May 27, 2001 in the Engineering Boardroom at MUN. Much discussion took place regarding the future of MAC, particularly in light of conflicting and overlapping scientific meetings. It was decided that The Canadian Mineralogist will continue to be made available in both paper and electronic formats to our 970 Ordinary members and 433 Corporate members. Scenarios relating to membership dues, such as a reduced Ordinary membership for an electronic version only, a Retired membership without the printed journal, etc., were discussed. In the end, it was decided that the annual subscription cost for an Ordinary membership would remain unchanged, but with the Institutional fee increasing to \$390 per year, the latter now including both the printed and electronic versions. It was also decided that the MAC program of recognizing excellence at the undergraduate level would continue, but would now include both a choice of a MAC publication and a one-year electronic subscription to The Canadian Mineralogist. The Association will also continue to support endeavors promoting the Mineral Sciences in Canada, including publishing the Newsletter three times a year along with providing financial support to PACROFI 2002 (Co-chairs A. Anderson and D. Kontak) and to graduate students (five) planning on attending the 2002 International Mineralogical Association meeting (Edinburgh, Scotland).

The audited financial statement to year end December 31, 2001, prepared by Joanne L. Dorman, Chartered Accountant (Burnaby, B.C.) lists the Treasury Reserve Fund in excess of \$856,000, with a recognized surplus of \$68,000 over the past year. The audited financial statement is published in the Newsletter.

The Association, through the MAC Foundation, awarded its \$10,000 graduate scholarship to Andrew Locock, University of Notre Dame. Your financial sup-

port of this very deserving award is greatly appreciated. Please direct any inquires about donations to the Foundation to R.H. Mitchell, Chairman of the Board, MAC Foundation, Lakehead University, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5E1 (rmitchel@gale.lakeheadu.ca).

The next Joint Annual Meeting of the GAC and MAC will be held at the University of Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. The incoming Council will meet at that time. The Annual Business Meeting for all members is scheduled for May 30, 2002.

Finally, as you come to the end of this report, you will notice that the Secretary for the MAC has changed.

For all my years of involvement and knowledge of the MAC, there has been only one person at the helm, Gina LeCheminant. I am quickly learning how the efficient operation of our organization has depended so heavily upon one person. In many ways, I am reminded of the "good mother" working so diligently to ensure the "family" was not only held together, but seen to prosper, and in this regard, Gina's efforts have been fruitful. Gina will remain involved in the MAC, principally as Secretary for the MAC Foundation. On behalf of the Mineralogical Association of Canada, thank you, Gina.

Andrew M. McDonald, Secretary