The second general meeting of the International Mineralogical Association took place August 22-25, 1960 at the Royal Technical Institute in Copenhagen in conjunction with the International Geological Congress; in addition there were meetings of the Commis-

sions on August 19-21.

The first business meeting in the afternoon of August 22 was attended by 36 voting delegates of the member societies, as well as by about 100 other mineralogists. President Parker presented a thoughtful report summarizing the present state of the Association, together with his suggestions for the future. Highlights of this included his urging that the individual member societies as such take a greater interest in the Association, the suggestion that the mechanism for the election of councillors as given in the constitution adopted at Zürich might need some modification, the hope that future meetings would be apart from those of other bodies, and the problems of financing the travel costs of those attending the meetings. Secretary Amorós in his report stated that there are now 22 member societies (including New Zealand in addition to the 21 listed in his report in the Zürich symposia). He noted that the Zürich symposia are now available in printed form (see Am. Mineral., 45, 1129, September-October, 1960) together with the current constitution and minutes of the meeting; he also mentioned the Zürich field trips (see GeoTimes, 4, 29, January-February, 1960, published by the American Geological Institute). Treasurer Fisher's report showed a cash balance on hand July 1, 1960 of \$1,269.44. It was voted to organize a new Commission on the Teaching of Mineralogy. The Association accepted with thanks the offer of the Mineralogical Society of America to serve as host for its next meeting in Washington, April 14 to 22, 1962.

At the second business meeting on the morning of August 24 the chairmen of the four Commissions of the Association reported on their accomplishments; it is hoped that at least some of these will be available in printed form before long. This was followed by the election of a new Council, as well as Commission and Committee officers, to serve until

1964. as follows:

Council Commission Officers President: D. J. Fisher 1st Vice-President: C. E. Tilley Abstracts. Chairman: M. Fornaseri Secretary: R. van Tassel Chairman: H. Strunz 2nd Vice-President: G. P. Barsanov Mineral Data. Secretary: J. L. Amorós
Treasurer: L. G. Berry
Councillors: P. R. J. Naidu
Th. G. Sahama
H. G. F. Winkler
Past President: R. L. Parker Secretary: G. T. Faust Chairman: C. Frondel Secretary: F. Leutwein Museums. Chairman: M. Fleischer Secretary: C. Guillemin Chairman: J. Orcel Secretary: H. J. deWijs New minerals and Mineral names. Teaching.

Chairmen of Committees to effect liason between the Association and other international organizations are: F. Laves (International Crystallographic Union), E. W. Heinrich (Geochemical Society), and (with Commissions of the International Geological Congress), C. Burri (Petrographic Nomenclature) and D. P. Grigoriev (Meteorites).

The first symposium on Mineral Synthesis met the morning and afternoon of August 23 under the chairmanship of J. R. Goldsmith. The second on Feldspars had F. Laves as its chairman and met the afternoon of August 24 and all day on August 25. Abstracts of the talks presented were printed in the program; the complete papers with discussions of the Feldspar symposium are in the course of being published by the Instituto Lucas Mallada of Madrid. The titles of the papers given are as follows:

Mineral Synthesis

F. R. Boyd and J. L. England: Synthesis of pyrope, diamond, and other high-pressure phases.

W. S. Fyfe: Nucleation patterns and mineral synthesis.
D. L. Hamilton and W. S. MacKenzie: Nephelines as crystallization temperature

S. Matthes: Synthesis of pyralspite-garnets at relatively low pressures. H. S. Yoder, D. B. Stewart and J. R. Smith: Ab-Or-An-H₂O at 5000 bars. H. H. Lohse, H. Burzlaff, and E. Hellner: Some remarks on the koenenite problem.

A. E. Ringwood: Prediction and confirmation of the olivine-spinel transformation in Ni₂SiO₄.

A. Rittmann and E. El-Hinnawi: Quantitative conoscopy for rapid determination of synthetic minerals.

Feldspars

T. F. W. Barth: Some temperature-dependent crystallo-chemical properties of the feldspar lattices.

H. C. F. Winkler: On coexisting feldspars (experimental observations).

D. B. Stewart and E. H. Roseboom: Lower temperature terminations of the three-phase region plagioclase-alkali feldspar-liquid. K. S. Heier: The amphibolite-granulite facies transition reflected in the mineralogy of

potassium feldspars. F. J. Kuellmer: Alkali feldspars from some intrusive porphyries of southwestern United

States. G. A. Deicha: Les cavités des feldspaths.

J. B. Jones and W. H. Taylor: The structure or orthoclase.
J. V. Smith and W. S. MacKenzie: Atomic, chemical and physical factors that control

- the stability of alkali feldspars.

 W. S. MacKenzie and J. V. Smith: Structural variations in alkali feldspars.

 J. R. Goldsmith and F. Laves: Polymorphism, order, disorder, diffusion and confusion in the feldspars.
- A. S. Marfunin: The relation between structure and optical orientation in potash soda

J. Wyart: L'échange des cations dans les feldspaths et l'action de l'eau.
H. Curien: Échanges isotopiques des atomes d'oxygène dans les silicates.
C. J. E. Kempster, H. D. Megaw and E. W. Radoslovich: The structure of anorthite.
S. Chandrasekhar, S. G. Fleet and H. D. Megaw: Structure of "body-centered anorthite."

H. D. Megaw: The structure of the intermediate plagioclase feldspars.
C. Burri, R. L. Parker and E. Wenk: Project of a new general catalogue of data for the determination of plagioclases by the universal stage method.

P. Gay: Some recent work on the plagioclase feldspars.
H. D. Megaw: Effects of temperature and composition in the plagioclases and other feldspars.

E. El-Hinnawi: The application of the zonal method for the distinction between highand-low temperature plagioclase feldspars.

St. Karamata: Einfluss des geologischen Alters und des tektonischen Druckes auf die Art der Alkalifeldspäte.