mine at Santa Rita. He also wishes to express his thanks to Dr. B. S. Butler of the University of Arizona, and Dr. E. S. Bastin of the University of Chicago for their helpful criticism in the preparation of the article.

NOTES AND NEWS

NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICERS OF THE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA FOR 1933

The Council has nominated the following for officers of the Mineralogical Society of America for the year 1933:

PRESIDENT: Herbert P. Whitlock, American Museum of Natural History, New York City.

VICE-PRESIDENT: Frank N. Guild, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona.

Secretary: Frank R. Van Horn, Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland, Ohio.

TREASURER: Waldemar T. Schaller, United States Geological Survey, Washington, D.C.

EDITOR: Walter F. Hunt, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan. COUNCILOR (1933-1936): Kenneth K. Landes, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas.

The thirteenth annual meeting of the Society will be held December 28–30, 1932, at Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts. It is planned to publish in the December issue of the Journal a *preliminary* list of titles of papers to be presented before the Society at its annual meeting. In order to appear on the advance program, titles of papers should be in the hands of the Secretary by *November 10*.

FRANK R. VAN HORN, Secretary

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON NOMENCLATURE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA, 1932

TO THE FELLOWS AND MEMBERS OF THE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA:

The report of the Committee on Nomenclature has been mailed to all fellows and members. Please read it carefully and preserve your copy. If you have any suggestions to make, please send them to the Chairman, Dr. W. T. Schaller, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D.C., before November 1, 1932. The report, with any comments by the membership, will be presented to the Society at the annual meeting to be held in Cambridge, Mass., this coming December, 1932. Please be prepared to vote on its acceptance or amendment or rejection, without a full reading of the report at the meeting.

WALDEMAR T. SCHALLER, Chairman