WALKER MINERALOGICAL CLUB*

OFFICERS 1951

Honorary President, A, L, Parsons; President, G. G. Waite; Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. Helen Bush; Editor, L. G. Berry; Councillors, M. H. Frohberg, V. B. Meen, W. Take, C. C. Stevenson, J. A. McDonald.

ABSTRACT OF PROCEEDINGS, 1951

January 18, 1951. The Walker Mineralogical Club met in the Royal Ontario Museum of Geology and Mineralogy. Major E. Taylor of Queen's University gave a brief talk on mounting mineral specimens in plaster and displayed several minerals mounted in this manner. Dr. V. B. Meen, Director of the Royal Ontario Museum of Geology and Mineralogy, then addressed the club, giving a brief history of this museum and outlining the arrangement of its specimens. The remainder of the evening was spent in examining more closely the exhibits in the gallery of Mineralogy. Refreshments were served.

February 8, 1951. Mr. D. H. Gorman of the Department of Geological Sciences of the University of Toronto spoke on Mineral Identification. Groups of mineral specimens illustrating various properties were arranged systematically and members had the opportunity of examining them. Mr. C. C. Stevenson donated the lucky door prize, native copper from Keewanan Point, Michigan.

March 8, 1951. Three graduate students working in the Department of Geological Sciences addressed the club. Mr. D. H. Gorman spoke on "The Secondary Uranium Minerals," Mr. E. J. Brooker discussed the Metamict Minerals and Mr. J. M. Andrew's topic was the Study of Opaque Minerals in Polished Surfaces.

April 19, 1951. The financial statement of the year 1951 was presented by Mr. W. M. Tovell, showing a Balance on Hand to be \$348.54. Colour slides of the 1950 field trip to Gouverneur, N. Y. were shown as well as slides of individual collecting trips by members. A mineral identification contest was won by Mr. Bruce Metcalfe.

May 22, 1951. Mr. E. R. Tiffany, certified gemologist, Henry Birks and Sons, Limited, Toronto, spoke on "How a Gemologist Looks at Gem Values," and also showed colour slides taken on his recent buying trip abroad. He put on display several exceptionally fine gem stones viz: two large alexandrites, a large blue sapphire, synthetic emeralds and black and white pearls.

October 5-8, 1951. The Fifth Annual Field Trip was held at Combermere, Renfrew County. Mr. Louis Moyd acted as guide. Corundum crystals were collected at the Craigmont Corundum Mines, and from the Quadville Beryl Mines beryl crystals, black tourmaline crystals, amazonite and rose quartz. An innovation introduced to this year's hunt was a square dance held on Saturday evening.

November 22, 1951. Mr. W. M. Tovell, lecturer in the Geological Sciences, University of Toronto addressed the club on "Gold Comes in Barrels," an outline of oil developments in Canada. He illustrated his talk with slides and specimens.

December 13, 1951. Dr. P. A. Peach of the Department of Geological Sciences, University of Toronto spoke on "A Trip to Labrador" and illustrated his talk with slides. The evening concluded with a gift exchange of minerals in which all members participated.

The Peacock Memorial Prize of One Hundred Dollars Cash is offered by the Club for

* Founded in 1938 and named in honour of the late Professor T. L. Walker (1867-1942), then Professor Emeritus of Mineralogy and Petrography in the University of Toronto and Director of the Royal Ontario Museum of Mineralogy. The by-laws of the Club were published in *Am. Mineral.*, **34**, 469, 1949.

the best scientific paper on pure or applied mineralogy. A full announcement of the conditions governing the award appeared in the March-April, 1952, issue of *The American Mineralogist*. The papers must reach the secretary, Walker Mineralogical Club, 100 Queens Park, Toronto, not later than June 30, 1952.

The Council of the Walker Club wishes to acknowledge the courtesy of the Council of the Mineralogical Society of America in again making possible the publication of a Canadian number of *The American Mineralogist*.

MRS. HELEN BUSH Secretary-Treasurer

ANNUAL MEETING

The thirty-third annual meeting of the Mineralogical Society of America will be held in Boston, Massachusetts, on November 13–15, 1952, with headquarters at the Hotel Statler.

A series of field trips is being planned for Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, November 10th to 12th. Various short excursions to scientific laboratories, industries, and historical sites in the Boston area are planned for the days of the meeting, November 13th-15th.

Abstracts of papers to be presented at the annual meeting must be received by the Secretary on or before *July 15*, 1952. Abstract blanks may be obtained from the Secretary.

NOMINATIONS OF OFFICERS FOR 1953

- President: J. D. H. Donnay, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland
- Vice-President: H. V. Ellsworth, Canada Geological Survey, Ottawa, Canada
- Secretary: C. S. Hurlbut, Jr., Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Treasurer: Earl Ingerson, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C.

Editor: Walter F. Hunt, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan *Councilor:* (1953-56): C. Osborne Hutton, Stanford University, Palo Alto, California.

The above Fellows have been mominated by the Council as officers of the Mineralogical Society of America for 1953. They will be voted on at the election in October 1952.

C. S. HURLBUT, JR., Secretary

ANNUAL MEETING; NOMINATIONS OF OFFICERS

According to the Arizona Daily Star of March 26, 1952, Dr. Maxwell N. Short, head of the Dept. of Geology and Mineralogy at the University of Arizona, died at his home in Tucson at the age of 63. Dr. Short had suffered from high blood pressure for a long time. Professor Short was one of the associate editors of *The American Mineralogist* and in 1939 was elected President of the Mineralogical Society of America.

Copies of a 12 page brochure summarizing articles and patents pertaining to the Diamond Tool Industry in 1951 are available, free of charge, from the Industrial Diamond Information Bureau, 32-34 Holborn Viaduct, London, E.C.I.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists has elected the following officers for 1952-1953:

President: Curtis H. Johnson, assistant chief geophysicist for General Petroleum Corporation, Los Angeles, California.

Vice-President: Roy L. Lay, manager of the geophysical division of the Texas Co., Houston, Texas.

Secretary-Treasurer: Carl L. Bryan, consulting geophysicist, Shreveport, Louisiana.