### PROCEEDINGS

## Nominations for Officers for 1970

The following slate of elective officers for 1970, submitted by the Nominating Committee for Officers, was approved by the Council and will appear on the ballot submitted to the membership in October 1969.

President—William F. Bradley Vice President—Julian Goldsmith Secretary—Arnulf Muan Treasurer—(Not on ballot, elected every 2 years) Councillors—(1970–1972) (2 of 4 to be elected,) Daniel Appleman David Wones Peter Wyllie E-an Zen

## National Medal of Science

The Council unanimously agreed that Martin Buerger's name be submitted as the Society's candidate for this national honor.

# **REPORT OF THE SECRETARY FOR 1968**

To the Council of the Mineralogical Society of America:

# Election of Officers

The ballots were counted on October 2, 1968 by a Tellers Committee consisting of J. Ann Gilbert, William E. Drake and Ralph J. Holmes. A total of 1041 ballots were cast in the election of officers and council members and 201 in the election of fellows. The officers elected to serve in 1969 are:

> President—Francis J. Turner Vice President—William F. Bradley Secretary—Voted on in alternate years (not in 1968) Treasurer—Alvin Van Valkenburg, Jr.

The two Councilors elected for the three year term (1969-1971) are:

#### W. Gary Ernst and Gunnar Kullerud

## Election of Fellows

In accordance with the provisions of the Constitution 63 members have been elected to Fellowship in the Society:

Hans H. Adler	Alvin J. Cohen	John L. Jambor
John P. Albers	Arthur L. Crawford	Karl Jasmund
Ronald James Arnott	Paul E. Desautels	Klaus Keil
Paul Bartholome	Peter G. Embrey	Marvin A. Lanphere
William A. Bassett	Gilbert H. Espenshade	Bernard E. Leake
Werner Heinz Baur	Jen-Ho Fang	Michael J. LeBas
Peter M. Bell	Otto W. Florke	Charles J. Mankin
Nicolai K. Belov	Paul W. Gast	Harry M. Mikami
Robert M. Berman	Subrata Ghose	Carleton B. Moore
Raymond A. Binns	Fred P. Glasser	Jules F. Moreau
George D. Brunton	Dmitry P. Grigoriev	German Muller
Marcello Carapezza	Theodor Hahn	Robert E. Newnham
Hilda Cid-Dresdner	J. Julian Hemley	Hans Pauly
Lloyd A. Clark	Donald M. Henderson	William B. Pearson

Guy Perrault	Yotaro Seki	Edwin W. Tooker
William Petruk	Eugene M. Shoemaker	Otto R. Trautz
Jean Prouvost	Charles H. Smith	Allan C. Turnock
Robert C. Reynolds Jr.	Deane K. Smith	Jon N. Weber
Paul Hubert Ribbe	Ichiro Sunagawa	W. Arthur White
German E. Sabatier	Yoshio Takeuchi	William B. White
Werner F. Schreyer	William H. Taubeneck	Hans Wondratschek
Jean Prouvost Robert C. Reynolds Jr. Paul Hubert Ribbe German E. Sabatier	Charles H. Smith Deane K. Smith Ichiro Sunagawa Yoshio Takeuchi	Jon N. Weber W. Arthur White William B. White

## Amendment to the By-Laws

The proposed amendment to change the by-laws of the Society was approved by a vote of 658 to 352. This amendment changes the wording of Section 1 of Article II Dues

- From: "The annual dues for members and fellows shall be eight dollars (\$8) payable in January. Members who are students shall pay one-half of the dues of other members."
- To: "The annual dues of members and fellows shall be fixed by action of the Council."

### Society Membership

Membership figures for the Society in 1968 are compared below with those for the past three years:

	1965	1966	1967	1968
Honorary Fellows	3	2	2	2
Fellows.	478	460	484	560
Members	1,880	1,996	2,144	2,161
		-		
	2,361	2,458	2,630	2,723

#### Fellows lost to the Society by death

During the year the Society lost, through death, four Fellows:

David Gallagher 2/--/68 Riad Hegazi /68 Joseph Lukesh 2/16/68 Bronson Stringham /68

Respectfully submitted, RALPH J. HOLMES, Secretary

## **REPORT OF THE TREASURER FOR 1968**

(Year ending July 31, 1968)

To the Council of the Mineralogical Society of America:

#### SUMMARY STATEMENT

Operating cash, August 1, 1967.	\$11,084.51	
Receipts, August 1, 1967–July 31, 1968	80,256.57	
Transfer from capital.	13,875.33	\$105,216.41
Disbursements, August 1, 1967–July 31, 1968.	94,048.24	
Operating cash, August 1, 1968	11,168.17	\$105,216.41

660