PROCEEDINGS OF THE FIFTY-SECOND ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA IN WASHINGTON, D. C.

ARNULF MUAN AND JOAN R. CLARK, Secretaries

The fifty-second annual meeting of the Society was held on November 1-3, 1971 at the Shoreham and Sheraton-Park Hotels in Washington, D. C. The technical sessions were integrated as usual with those of the Geological Society of America and its affiliated societies.

The retiring President, Julian R. Goldsmith, addressed the Society on the morning of November 2nd on the subject "Mineralogical Musings".

The annual business meeting of the Society was held on the morning of November 2, at which time reports were presented by the Secretary, Treasurer, and Editor of the American Mineralogist.

ACTIONS OF THE 1971 COUNCIL

The second and last meeting of the 1971 Council was held on Sunday, October 31 and Monday, November 1. The principal actions taken by the Council are summarized below:

Awards

The Council voted to award the Roebling Medal for 1972 to E. F. Osborn, and the Mineralogical Society of America Award for 1972 to A. L. Boettcher.

Nominations for Officers for 1973

The following slate of elective officers for 1973, submitted by the Nominating Committee for Officers, was approved and will appear on the ballot to be submitted to the membership in September, 1972.

President—J. V. Smith
Vice President—S. W. Bailey
Secretary—(not on 1973 ballot)
Treasurer—P. M. Bethke
Councilors (1973–1975)—(2 of 4 to be elected)

D. E. Appleman D. H. Lindsley J. J. Papike D. B. Stewart

Fellowship

The Council approved the election of the entire list of 34 members recommended for Fellowship by the Nominating Committee for Fellows. They are as

follows:

A. L. Albee	W. T. Granquist	T. Peters
R. G. Arnold	G. V. Guidotti	P. Robinson
M. E. Bickford	J. L. Haas, Jr.	W. R. Van Schmus
C. J. Bowser	D. M. Hausen	H. C. W. Skinner
P. R. Brett	J. S. Huebner	A. L. Streckeisen
W. A. Dollase	B. F. Jones	V. S. Stubican
G. D. Eberlein	P. W. Lipman	R. I. Tilling
H. P. Eugster	W. C. Luth	D. F. Weill
L. W. Finger	I. D. MacGregor	J. S. White, Jr.
J. J. Finney	W. G. Melson	T. L. Wright
K. F. Fischer	B. A. Morgan, III	B. J. Wuensch
B M French	2. 11. 1.101gan, 111	D. J. Wuensen

Consequences of Recent Affirmative Vote on Amendments to Constitution and By-Laws

The Council expressed concern about the possible divisive effects of the approved amendments and admitted that last year's Council, of which most of the present Councilors were also members, should have studied the proposed amendment more carefully, should have analyzed its implications, and publicized it more widely than is required by the present By-Laws.

The new Council was urged to review carefully the problems associated with the implementation of the amendments and to consider appointing a committee to review and up-date the entire Constitution and By-Laws of the Society.

Because of confusion regarding the interpretation of certain aspects of the amendments, the Council affirmed the Fellowship Status of all present Fellows of the Society.

Report of the Ad Hoc Publications Committee

The President thanked the committee, E-an Zen, Chairman, R. C. Erd and W. T. Holser, for their extensive review of the various factors pertaining to publication policies and their implementations, and for their excellent report submitted to Council members last summer. The Council approved specific recommendations made in the above report, including the establishment of a Managing Editor position and an increase in page charges to \$35.00 per page for the American Mineralogist. The Council approved the submission of a Resolution to the George Banta Company in recognition of their long and distinguished effort as printer of the American Mineralogist. Financial considerations forced a change, and William Byrd Press, Richmond, Virginia, is printing the Journal, effective January 1, 1972.

Report of Management Committee

The Council decided that professional management of the Society's affairs needs to be continued, and authorized the Chairman of the Management Committee to enter into negotiations with AGI and AGU toward a one-year management contract with one of these organizations.

Increase in Dues

The Council voted to increase dues to \$20.00 and subscriptions to \$40.00.

ACTIONS OF THE 1972 COUNCIL

The first meeting of the 1972 Council was held on Wednesday afternoon, November 3, 1971.

Fiscal Decisions

The new dues of \$20.00 become effective on the December billing for 1972. The dues for student members are to remain at \$6.00. Geotimes is to be provided to all members by AGI, with the understanding that the Society's payment for this service will be approximately the amount budgeted (\$3,000.00).

The fiscal year is to be changed to begin July 1 instead of the present Au-

gust 1.

Decisions with respect to future investments and supervision of the Endowment Fund are to be placed temporarily in the hands of the Executive Committee. Expenditures of up to \$1,000.00 for legal advice were approved, and an amount of \$10,000.00 was budgeted for the new office of Managing Editor of The American Mineralogist. The budget for 1972 as amended was approved by the Council, with the provision that actual expenditures not exceed the budgeted amounts by more than 5%.

Stock Transactions

The Treasurer was authorized to carry out business transactions (including buying and selling stocks; borrowing money) on behalf of the Society, until the time of the Annual Meeting in November, 1972.

Auditing

Inasmuch as the Society now uses professional auditors, the Auditing Committee was abolished.

Editor of The American Mineralogist

William T. Holser was unanimously reappointed for another term.

Committee and Other Appointive Officers

A list of appointive officers, pepared by the President in consultation with the Secretary and the Committee on Committees, was presented to the Council and with minor changes was unanimously approved. This list will be published in each issue of The American Mineralogist. The following new committees were established: Publications Committee; Ad-Hoc Committee on Constitution and By-Laws; Endowment Committee. The name of the Nominating Committee for Fellows was changed to Committee on Membership Status.

Meeting for 1972

The regular sessions of the annual meeting of the Mineralogical Society of America will be held in conjunction with that of the Geological Society of America and affiliated societies in Minneapolis, Minnesota, November 13–15, 1972.

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY FOR 1971

Elections

The ballots were counted on October 14, 1971 by a Tellers' Committee consisting of Anne Irvin, John Moriarty and Arnulf Muan. A total of 1,031 officer