Proceedings of the Sixty-fourth Annual Meeting of the Mineralogical Society of America in Indianapolis, Indiana

M. CHARLES GILBERT, SECRETARY 1983 AND HENRY O. A. MEYER, SECRETARY 1984

The sixty-fourth annual meeting of the Society was held on October 30–November 3, 1984 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The abstracts were organized into nine technical sessions: three in igneous petrology, two in metamorphic petrology, two in mineralogy/crystallography, one in experimental petrology, and one in volcanology. In addition we sponsored one large poster session and one symposium: Silicate-Oxide and Silicate-Native Element Interactions in Igneous and Metamorphic Rocks organized by B. Ronald Frost and Cornelis Klein. These sessions were integrated with those of the Geological Society of America (who publish the abstracts) and other affiliated societies.

The retiring president, Edwin Roedder, gave an address on "The Fluids in Salt" on Tuesday, November 1. Subsequently, Roedder called the annual business meeting of the Society to order at 1205 hours. The Secretary, Treasurer, Editor of the American Mineralogist and Editor of the Reviews in Mineralogy reported to the membership on Society affairs. Roedder adjourned the meeting at 1229 hours.

1983 Council Actions

The second meeting of the 1983 Council was held in Baltimore, Maryland on June 2, 1983 and the third meeting on October 30, 1983 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Important actions taken were:

Awards

The Roebling Medal for 1984 will be awarded to Paul B. Barton, Jr. of the U.S Geological Survey, and the Mineralogical Society of America Award for 1984 will be presented to Bernard J. Wood of Northwestern University.

On the initiative of Peter Buseck, the Council has created an American Mineralogist Undergraduate Award for outstanding undergraduate students in mineralogy, crystallography and/or petrology. Every academic department offering these subjects and at least one of whose faculty is a Member or Fellow of the Society may select one awardee per year. The award will be a year's subscription to The American Mineralogist.

Research Grants

The Kraus-Glass crystallographic research grant for 1984 was given to Melinda Darby Dyar of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Competition for the 1985 Mineralogy-Petrology grant will be held this year.

Nominations for Officers for 1985

President: Hans P. Eugster, The Johns Hopkins University

Vice-President: Paul B. Barton, Jr., U.S. Geo-(one to be selected) logical Survey

Arden L. Albee, California In-

stitute of Technology

Secretary: Not on 1985 ballot

Treasurer: Gordon L. Nord Jr., U.S.

(1985–1986) Geological Society

Councillors: Rodney C. Ewing, University of New Mexico

1985–1987) Charles V. Guidotti, University of Maine

Cornelis Klein Jr., Indiana
University

Anthony J. Naldrett, University of Toronto

Fellowship

Council elected the following 13 members to Fellowship, based on recommendations of the Nominating Committee for Fellows (P. H. Reitan, Chair) and using the new rule which limits the members elected to no more than 0.5% of the total membership:

David E. Anderson

Nabil Z. Boctor

Kurt G. V. Boström

Arthur H. Brownlow

Bruce W. Chappell

Mabel I. Corlett

Peter J. Dunn

Rodney C. Ewing

Hans-Ude Nissen

Gordon L. Nord, Jr.

Lawrence A. Taylor

Robert A. Wiebe

Bruce W. D. Yardley

Financial Affairs and Management Concerns

The Glass Legacy, which is unrestricted, has been transferred from its previous association with the Kraus Fund to the newer Mineralogy-Petrology Fund. This provides a better balance between the Funds, allowing them to support more adequately the biennial research grants.

Subscription rates for the American Mineralogist/Reviews In Mineralogy were raised from \$85 in 1983 to \$105 in 1984. Membership dues were raised from \$30 in 1983 to \$35 in 1984 while spouse memberships were changed from \$5 to \$10. These adjustments are thought necessary to keep the Society in sound financial condition.

Problems associated with funding life memberships

594 PROCEEDINGS

occupied much time of the Council and led to adoption of explicit policies recommended by the Treasurer to guide future accounting. Pending changes in the ByLaws will help clarify the Society's future obligations.

After considerable turmoil over management issues during the past four years, the Council made a firm commitment to stay with the American Geophysical Union under a two-year rolling agreement and to hire a full-time Executive Secretary at the Union.

1984 Council Actions

The first meeting of the 1984 Council was held in Indianapolis on November 1, 1983.

The Council discussed several topics including (1) consideration of Honorary Officers; (2) possibility of fund raising to help the financial growth of the Society and its various awards and funds; (3) the desirability of continuing the status of Fellows of the Society; (4) the position of full-time Executive Secretary to organize and run the affairs of the business office of the Society at the AGU headquarters in Washington.

The Council approved the budgets for the Society and Mineralogical Abstracts. Michael J. Holdaway, Editor, and Linda Dungan, Managing Editor, of the American Mineralogist; Paul H. Ribbe, Editor—Reviews of Mineralogy were all reappointed for 1984. A. F. Spilhaus was reappointed Executive Secretary.

Committee

The report on the Committee on Committees (Prewitt, Chairman) was approved with modifications. Two Ad Hoc Committees were added (1) Committee on Membership and Honorary Officers (M. C. Gilbert, Chairman); (2) Committee on Fellows (J. J. Papike, Chairman).

Search for Executive Secretary

A full time Executive Secretary is to be appointed as soon as possible. The position will be nationally advertised. The committee appointed to review the applicants consists of the Executive Committee, Vice-President, Chairman of the Management Committee, Chairman of the Financial Advisory Committee and the present Executive Secretary.

HENRY O. A. MEYER Secretary

Report of the Secretary for 1983

Results of the Election

The 1983 election resulted in:

President: Vice-President: C. T. Prewitt (1984)H. P. Eugster (1984)

Secretary:

H. O. A. Meyer (1984–85)

Councillors:

G. E. Brown (1984–86)

H. P. Taylor, Jr. (1984-86)

The ballots (973) and the count were certified on September 27, 1983.

Membership Statistics

As of December 1983, there were 2799 (-26) members distributed as follows: Members 1641 (-23); Student Members 570 (-10); Fellows 581 (+8); Honorary Fellows 7 (-1). Numbers in parentheses indicate change from 1982. Non-member subscriptions were 1536 (+36).

Necrology

The deaths of the following Members and Fellows have been reported:

Guido Carobbi Augustine M. Irvin
Malcolm A. Conrad Charles E. Marshall
Frank Dachille Phillip L. Merritt
Frank Z. Edwards Gloria H. Miller
Theodor Ernst B. C. Monymaker
Robert M. Grogan Robert W. Preather

Thure Geor Sahama
Paul Seel
Alfred K. Snelbrove
Helen Ruth Stobbe
O. Frank Tuttle

The Secretary would appreciate notification of the passing of any member.

Other

The Society is in good health. O. B. James, Treasurer has spent many days over the past three years working on the structure of our finances and the Council has taken many needed actions to clarify financial policies and procedures. While management misunderstandings have been frequent over the past four years, the outlook is for improved and smoother operations. This is my final report to you. I have enjoyed serving as your Secretary and thank the Society for this opportunity. Thank you for your active assistance.

M. C. GILBERT